A Brief History of The Exhibition Fund


Exhibition Fund Winner 2015 - Victoria Walker

Exhibition Fund Winner 2012 - Peter Johnstone

Exhibition Fund Winner 2013 - Joe Diliamore

Exhibition Fund Winner 2010 - Emma Walker


If you want to make a donation, please complete a Donations/Gift Aid form and make payment by donate button below.

The Exhibition Fund was set up on the 17th October 1885 when the Originator of the Exhibition, Thomas Hughes Esq. F.S.A., together with Charles Brown Esq. the Mayor of the City of Chester, Thomas Brown Esq. Sheriff of the City of Chester, and the President, Secretary and Treasurer of our Association, and The Senior Ex Old Scholars Exhibitioner, all signed the original Trust Deed. The sum raised was £1,500 (equivalent to £ 178,500 today (source: Bank of England)). The Exhibition was called the “Old King’s Scholars Exhibition” and was originally set at £60 per annum to cover tuition fees, books and lodgings.

At that time William Denson Haswell Esq. was President of the Association, John Griffiths Esq. and Thomas Cann Hughes Esq. B.A. were Joint Secretaries and John Ellis Edwards Esq. was Treasurer. The Senior Ex Old Scholars Exhibitioner was The Reverend Frank Joseph Powell M.A.

To this day the holders of the above offices in the City and in the Association serve as Trustees as long as they hold office. However from the 1980’s, due to the tendency for the Senior Ex Old Scholars Exhibitioner to be of some age, that position as a Trustee was replaced by a Trustee nominated by the Association (currently Will Lamb).

The stated purpose of the Exhibition is “the promotion of good general scholarship” with no special preference to be given to any particular branch of Study. The continuation of the award to the Exhibitioner being subject to satisfactory reports from their tutor.

Originally each year an Old King’s Scholar, who had obtained a place at Oxford, Cambridge, Edinburgh or Victoria (England) Universities, was selected by examination to receive the Exhibition each year for three years. Today the Trustees consider an Old King’s Scholar with a confirmed place at any British University as eligible for the award. The Victoria (England) Universities referred to in the Trust Deeds are those at Liverpool, Manchester and Leeds and were called such as they arose from an idea of Prince Albert to extend the then University system to remove inequalities of opportunity.

At time the Trust was set up only members of the Church of England could graduate from Oxford and Cambridge (although those of other religious beliefs could study there) and there was no opportunity for women to attend Oxford or Cambridge.

Nowadays on publication of the A level examination results the Headmaster and the senior teaching staff nominate whom they adjudge as the most outstanding pupil as the recipient of the award. This recommendation is considered by the Annual General Meeting of the Trustees. Originally the Exhibitioner was elected by the Trustees upon the result of a special examination. The subjects of examination being Religious Knowledge, Latin, Greek, Mathematics, Modern Languages, Physical Science, History, Geography, and English Literature.

Recipients of the Exhibition Award since the Great War include KC Boswell and A Williams at Oxford (1919) and R Tunstall and EW Taylor at Manchester (1922).

Exhibitioners up to 1939 were SN Downs, KH Ellis, AJ Kilner, SH Morrell, and JA Wrench.

It was not until 1963 that the Exhibition was again awarded and then to H Llewellyn-Thomas to read Modern Languages at St Edmund Hall.

The Honour Roll from then on includes the likes of JRM Arah, PRJ Bernie, AC Bounds, AT Brint, PM Cooke, BJ Davies, MJ Hardwick, DW Hughes, PN Johnson, CJ Luker, AJ Lydiard, RJ Macleod, IR Macleod, NJ Munday, RHA Muray, SJ Rundell, CA Shepherd and NG Shipley. More recent recipients can be seen below:

1983 SJ Edge Medicine Jesus College, Cambridge
  CC Parker Modern Languages St Catherine’s College
1984 CJ Stephenson Medicine Sheffield
1985 S Jones Economics Cambridge
1986 P Darragh English Manchester
  C Reynolds Medicine Nottingham
1987 JIW Jones Medical Science Christ’s College, Cambridge
1988 I Woodhouse Medicine Newcastle
1989 C Goodier Mechanical Engineering Imperial College, London
1990 CS Brown Modern Languages Corpus Christi, Cambridge
1991 D Clark Modern Languages Peterhouse, Cambridge
1992 A Jones Geography St John’s College, Cambridge
1993 H Jayaram Medicine Christ’s College, Cambridge
1994 R Nelson Aeronautics Manchester
1995 J Reed Medicine Birmingham
1996 I Harrison Chemical Engineering Birmingham
1997 A Gatward Philosophy Oriel College, Oxford
1998 A Jones Medicine Christ’s College, Cambridge
1999 B Dent Medicine St John’s College, Cambridge
2000 Ms K Billings Biological Sciences Emmanuel College, Cambridge
2001 C Whittaker Natural Sciences Christ’s College, Cambridge
2002 Ms E Soper Natural Sciences Christ’s College, Cambridge
2003 M Housden Natural Sciences Christ’s College, Cambridge
2004 W Parry Medical Sciences Christ’s College, Cambridge
2005 D Benson Mathematics with Physics Christ’s College, Cambridge
2006 B McMahon English Somerville College, Oxford
2007 D Tattershall Computer Science Christ’s College, Cambridge
2008 J. Andrade Medicine Edinburgh
2009 G. Roberts History Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge
2010 Ms E. Walker Medicine Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge
2011 P. Johnstone Medicine Corpus Christi College, Oxford
2012 J. Dillamore Economics and Management St. Hughes College, Oxford




C. Robson

Ms.H Milner

Ms. V Walker




Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford

Jesus College, Oxford